Technical Infrastructure

Technical strategies for cross-organizational online courses in Germany

During the developmental phase of the teaching module it is of utmost importance to harmonize work- and produc-tion flows, terminology, infrastructure, processes, etc. However, in a heterogeneous consortium like HiGHmed vari-ous individual learning management systems (LMS) to organize teaching are used at each partner site e.g. Stud.IP, Moodle, and ILIAS. In this context an appropriate cross-organizational solution is crucial to make content available to all learners, students, as well as employees in continuing vocational education and training.

To implement a suitable technical solution, requirements are analyzed to support innovative e-learning concepts with a strong focus on sustainability and expandability. The evaluation process of the technical solutions is based on the generally accepted quality criteria of reliability, costs, and functional suitability, as defined in the ISO/IEC 25010 stand-ard.

Based on the assessment of available technology and organizational structures, the working group recommends a federated and integrative approach for the technical infrastructure to enable a unified user experience for participants as defined by the common didactic concept. All learning content and courses that are part of the program will be cen-trally presented at a dedicated web portal. Identity management systems from partner sites will be integrated into a federated authentication and authorization infrastructure, allowing trusted cross-organizational identification of par-ticipants. Authenticated users will be able to access existing LMS and e-learning platforms of partner sites and may enroll in courses designated for HiGHmed teaching and training. The existing federated authentication infrastructure operated by the German National Research and Education Network (DFN) will be leveraged for identity management, the web portal and central e-learning platform will be collaboratively operated by the project group.

Team (alph.): Prof. Dr. Andreas Mayer, Simon Schweizer, Markus Suhr, Joana M. Warnecke and Maximilian Westers